Is Epic Necessary?

“The storm dropped more than a foot in a day and a half, and left a sparkling blue sky in its wake. It wasn’t epic by any means, but whether or not something is epic is not how we should define our skiing experiences. Perhaps one of the reasons we skiers have found ourselves in such a predicament lately is that somehow, somewhere everyone decided that the only skiing worth doing was the kind that left us gasping for air and/or scared to death. While it’s good to test our limits and seek out adventure, we shouldn’t be afraid to pull back on the reins, or god forbid, enjoy a day of variable snow. Plus, I’m tired of being scared. I’m tired of being scared for my friends. And after this winter, I’m especially tired of hearing people complain about having less than amazing snow. Just give me a skin track, a chairlift or two, free parking, and the perspective to see my ridiculous good fortune at being able to ski, period, and I’ll be happy. We shouldn’t have to ask for something to be epic in order for it to be worthy day in the mountains.” – Matt Hansen, Powder Magazine

Epic days were definitely not the drink of choice in Utah this winter. In fact, epic days were not even on the menu. I had great days. I had memorable days. And I sure as hell had plenty of fun days. But epic . . . not so much. And you know what? This doesn’t bother me one bit. Because in the end I was skiing. While some people were stuck in traffic, I was on top of a mountain. While some folks were working out in a gym, I was setting a skin track. And while some people were watching TV, I was making turns. Is epic necessary? No. But skiing definitely is.

I think every person who calls themselves a skier should read these words by Matt Hansen. The man truly hits the nail on the head. Once youv’e done that, turn your computer off and go skiing.

Categories: Ski | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

